7 Avenue Victor Hugo,13260 Cassis

Inuit Agreement

Non classé

In 1973, the Inuit Tapirisat of Canada (ITC) began studying the use and occupation of Inuit land in the Arctic. Three years later, in 1976, the ITC launched the idea of creating a territory in Nunavut and the Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission, which recommended dividing the Northwest Territories into two ridings: the Western Arctic (now Northwest Territory) and Nunatsiaq (now Nunavut). In 1982, the Nunavut Tunngavik Federation (TFN) negotiated the fomentary claim contract with the federal government. The vote in the Northwest Territories determined the creation of Nunavut by a majority of 56%. The TFN and representatives of the federal and territorial governments signed the Fundamental Law Agreement in 1990. In 1992, TFN and federal negotiators agreed on key parts of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. On May 25, 1993, Paul Quassa, then president of the Tunngavik Federation of Nunavut, and Brian Mulroney, then Prime Minister of Canada, and Tom Siddon, then Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs, signed the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. On July 7, 1993, the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement and the Nunavut Act were passed by the Canadian Parliament and obtained Royal Approval. In 1998, amendments to the Nunavut Act were passed by Parliament and received Royal Approval. In 1999, Nunavut became a reality with an independent government.

[5] AND CONSIDERING that the contracting parties agree that it is desirable to negotiate a land rights agreement through which Inuit obtain defined rights and benefits in exchange for the abandonment of rights, rights, titles and interests based on the obligation to claim; CONSIDERING that the Constitution Act of 1982 recognizes and confirms the existing Aboriginal and contractual rights of Aboriginal people in Canada, and that contractual rights include rights that can be acquired through land agreements; The Labrador Inuit won the right to self-administration in 2004 after entering into a successful claim agreement with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. The settlement area consists of 72,520 square kilometres of land in the northern labrador, which includes the five major Inuit communes of Nain, Hopedale, Rigolet, Makkovik and Postville. The Nunatsiavut government came to power through the agreement and can now pass laws in the areas of education, health and culture. As a result of the land agreement, Inuit now have more power than ever to protect their language, culture, land and resources from external threats. They can, for example, determine what is taught in their schools and in what language their children are taught. In 2008, nunatsiavut`s government represented approximately 5,000 Inuit men and women. The Nunavut Land Claim Agreement was signed on May 25, 1993 in Iqaluit by representatives of the Tunngavik Federation of Nunavut (now Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated), the Government of Canada and the Government of the Northwest Territories. This agreement gave the Inuit of the Central and Eastern Northwest Territories a separate area called Nunavut. It is the largest Aboriginal subdivision in Canadian history. [1] The NLCA consists of 42 chapters dealing with a wide range of political and environmental rights and concerns, including wildlife and harvesting rights, land, water and environmental management rules, parks and protected areas, cultural heritage resources, employment and public procurement, and a number of other issues.

[2] The agreement identifies two areas at the heart of the agreement: the first consists of the Arctic and continental eastern Arctic islands and its adjacent maritime areas; the second area includes the Belcher Islands, associated islands and adjacent maritime areas. [2] Inuit land rights contracts have been signed in the four Inuit regions: INAC is working with Inuit organizations and territorial and provincial governments to develop social well-being, economic prosperity and healthy communities for Inuit in Nunatsiavut, Nunavik, Nunavut and the Inuvialuit region.